HeERO (Harmonised eCall European Pilot) addresses the pan-European in-vehicle emergency call service “eCall” based on 112, the common European Emergency number. For three years (January 2011 to December 2013), the nine European countries forming the HeERO 1 consortium (Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania and Sweden) carried out the start-up of an interoperable and harmonised in-vehicle emergency call system.

The second phase of the HeERO project – HeERO 2 – started on 1st January 2013 and lasted 2 years. 6 new countries (namely Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Luxembourg, Spain and Turkey) joined the other 9 pilot sites of HeERO 1. Furthermore, other countries who wished to become HeERO partners, but have not succeeded for several reasons, became associate partners, a status allowing them to benefit from the expertise of HeERO 1 and 2 but not granting them access to EC funding.

The HeERO consortium tested and validated in real conditions pilots the common European eCall standards defined and approved by the European Standardisation Bodies.

The project is partially funded by the European Commission under the ICT PSP programme.